Posted by: Anonymous Me | January 6, 2011

Drastic Measures

Well, peeps, I know some of you have been wondering about the big announcement I alluded to yesterday. Before I get to that, I should give you some background. I have a tv problem (which I’ve mentioned before). I will avoid doing pretty much anything in order to watch tv. If I am at your house, and you have the tv on, I will ignore you in order to absorb what is on the screen…even commercials (You’ve been warned. ;)). Even though I only have one channel here, I watch it like it’s going to give me the answers to all life’s questions…Even though, we all know it’s not. I do not want to get through this year and say, “I did ok on my degree, but I am a freaking expert on BBC1!” That is certainly NOT what I came here to do! So, in keeping with a statement I’ve made many times to many people – “Nothing will get in the way of me taking full advantage of this amazing opportunity, **not even myself**!” – As of last night, the tv is in the closet. No, I cannot have it out and just not watch it. I am like a 7 year old with a candy jar in front of me, and it’s between meals. MUST. HAVE. (Something like this. Yes, it really is that bad. Admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery, right?? ;)) So, in order to ensure I actually get things done here, the tv is banished. And just to prove I’m not kidding:

Here’s where the tv used to be:

And here’s where it is now:

This is actually something I’ve done before…When I was studying for the GRE last year (grad school entrance exam for US universities), I knew there was NO chance I would want to review trigonometry equations when I could watch tv. I put the tv in the closet then as well, where it stayed for 9 months. Everyone thought I was CRAZY! (How can you live without tv?!?!?!…Without much difficulty actually.) At that time, I didn’t have internet access at home, either, which really blew people’s minds. However, the strategy worked for me. I ended up with a pretty darn respectable score on the GRE. (WILL. NOT. brag/toot my own horn/fish for compliments!! ;)) Anyhoo…All that to say, I know what I’m doing. Hopefully, my level of scholarship will reflect this change in positive ways.

I had been debating on whether or not to do this for a few weeks. Yesterday, I was searching for a quote for Quote of the Week, and the two I came across (and posted) were actually the deciding factor. A year from now, I would indeed have wished I had started today, so I did. 🙂

Confidently,

ME!


Responses

  1. I was wondering how long the t.v. would last. LOL! I knew it wouldn’t be too long. GIRL, the cake link– priceless!!! Too funny.

    Stay focused!!! Love and hugs, Me. 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories