Posted by: Anonymous Me | January 1, 2013

Happy New Year!

Happy 2013, everyone!

I hope you had a safe and enjoyable New Year’s Eve!

And because it’s New Year’s Day and because I am from the South, ’tis the season for black-eyed peas and something green! I need all the good luck and money I can get, so here’s what I ate today:

Hoppin’ John with Mustard Greens
Serves 6
from Cooking Light – December 2008

Ingredients:

2 c water
2 tbsp whole grain Dijon mustard
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dried thyme
2 tbsp olive oil
3 1/2 c chopped onion
1 c uncooked long-grain white rice
3/4 cup finely chopped ham
4 garlic cloves, minced
4 c cooked black-eyed peas
4 c chopped, trimmed mustard greens

Directions

1 – Combine first 4 ingredients, stirring with a whisk. Set aside.
2 – Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add onion to pan and saute for 6 minutes.
Add rice, ham, and garlic; saute for 2 minutes.
Stir in water mixture and bring to a boil.
Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 15 minutes.
Add black-eyes peas and greens. Cover and cook 5 minutes.
Stir rice mixture. Cover and cook an additional 5 minutes or until greens and rice are tender.

My modifications:
I didn’t have any thyme, so I used lots of ground coriander instead.
I heated up some salted butter over medium heat, and ‘toasted’ the rice for 3 minutes before I added it to the rest of the ingredients to give it a ‘nuttier’ flavor. (Per the instructions on cooking white rice found in America’s Test Kitchen’s New Best Recipe cookbook.)
I used chopped bacon instead of ham. (It comes pre-chopped in packages of nice sizable chunks in the grocery stores here.)
I couldn’t find mustard greens in the store, so I used spring greens instead, and I am pretty sure I ended up with something more like 2 cups of chopped greens instead of 4.
I only used 1 medium onion which is probably about 1 cup of chopped onion. 3 1/2 cups is a crazy amount of onion! Lands! To be faithful to the recipe, I probably would’ve added more, but I so didn’t feel like chopping 2 more onions! They make my eyes water and sting! Less can be more, people!

I have never made this before. I wasn’t expecting it to turn out badly or anything, but I wasn’t expecting to be so dang good either! It is all kinds of tasty!

Please see below for proof of nomminess:

Hoppin' John - New Year's Day

Happy Eating!

Resolutely,

Me 😀

Leave a Reply

Categories

