Posted by: Anonymous Me | December 1, 2011

It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year!!!


Gotta mix it up a little! 😀

It’s December!!!!! YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!! For me, this is definitely the most wonderful time of the year!

I am so excited to put up decorations (just a few cause of the poorness and what not! 😉 ), light pumpkin spice scented candles (my FAVE scent along with apple cider), of course, my FAVEST thing, listen to carols! YAY! I have been pondering on carols these past few days. I must admit that I have enjoyed some instrumental carols before I’ve gone to bed the last few days…a total cheat for me (must wait until December 1st), but I couldn’t help myself! Anyhoo…Last year, we talked about our fave carols. However, I’ve been wondering…What is your least favorite carol and/or Christmas-themed song? After much pondering on my part, I have come up with two:

The runner-up on my Least Fave Carols list. This one may stir some memories for the older members of our audience:

Suzy Snowflake which I am shocked to discover is by Rosemary Clooney.

My very first job was at a craft store (a former part of Michael’s that is now defunct). I worked there for 4.25 years. If I remember rightly the Christmas carols started being played over the loud speakers well before Thanksgiving. Part of the selection they played was a speeded up, super peppy version of the song showed above. It was INCREDIBLY annoying! I would cringe every time it come on! This slow version is not so bad, but I am pretty sure those four Christmas seasons of the fast version have ruined me on this song for years to come.

Now, for my #1 Least Fave Carol:


Baby, It’s Cold Outside by lots of people, but this version by Tom Jones and Cerys Matthews.

I seriously cannot bear to listen to this song! Have you ever really listened to words? It’s borderline rape-y. For example:

“Say, what’s in this drink?”
“The answer is no.”

What the H, people!!??! I don’t care if we’re in the middle of Siberia in the wintertime, I would rather deal with the cold than some dude trying to have his way with me by drugging my drink! Illegal much?? This is supposed to be CHRISTMAS, not some holiday version of “Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-alcohol” especially since I added a roofie!

I know some peeps love this song, but it seriously creeps me out. UGH!

Anyhoo…So, now that I’ve confessed, it’s time for you to spill the beans! What are some of your least fave carols? Tell me in the Comments!

Carols not drugs,

Me 😀

P.S. It trips me out that by this time last year, we were already a week into the two month Snowpacalypse here in the E!! And while it’s chilly here (highs in the mid-40s, lows in the upper 30s), it’s nowhere near that level of ridiculousness and for that I am definitely thankful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

