Posted by: Anonymous Me | November 9, 2011

Random Question…

Big shock: To get to the actual question, we have to take the scenic route through some backstory. Walk with me, why don’t you? ๐Ÿ™‚

So, my mother, who is a TOTAL goddess!, sent me a box of goodies from back home! Huzzah! I can now spice up my normal fare with such treats as tostada shells and taco sauce (guess what I had for dinner tonight? tostadas!!), Wheat Thins (WOOT!), hot chocolate (which they have here, for sure, but it tastes strange to me* [see below]), and the most unexpected item in this conglomeration of deliciousness…Little Debbie Fudge Brownies!! Y’all, I can’t lie. I almost teared up when I saw them! SO un-freakin’-believably good! And chocolate is not usually my go-to for satisfying my sweet tooth. NOM times infinity!!!

As I was indulging in one of these most fabulous of snack cakes, I got to pondering how so many of the Little Debbie products are among my faves: Peanut Butter Bars, an old yet perennial fave, Nutty Bars, Oatmeal Pies, Star Crunches, Fudge Rounds, Gingerbread Men, Pecan Spinwheels, and the list goes on… To see any of these in my lunchbox when I was in school (I brought my lunch *every* day from 1st through 12th grade) put a little extra pep in my lunchy step, if you will! This got me reminiscing on my ABSOLUTE Little Debbie fave, the Pecan Pie, which I believe is now only sold individually wrapped and is different from the boxed Pecan Pies of my youth. I am HUGE on texture in the foods I eat, and the Little Debbie Pecan Pie filling was IT! *drool!* If this were a Wayne’s World segment, we would totally launch into a Dream Sequence right about now – *deedleedee deedleedee deedleedee*…Flash to me as a 10 year old consuming a pecan pie the size of my palm as my eyes close slowly in bliss. NOM times infinity TO THE INFINITY POWER!!! It’s serious now, y’all. ๐Ÿ˜‰

ANYHOO…So THIS got me to thinking of all the foods I love and adore that have been discontinued. What I wouldn’t give for some Chicken Ranchero Quesadillas and a High’N’Mighty Ice Cream Pie at Chili’s…even the original version of the Caribbean Salad would be nice! There used to be a brand of hot chocolate called BeechNut that I LOVED! It is my fave hot chocolate but is found no more! And to kick it REALLY old school, when I was around 8, my mom joined Weight Watchers for a minute and would buy Weight Watchers frozen meals to eat (and because we were awesome and didn’t have a microwave, we got to wait an hour for them to be ready!). This was back before frozen meals were in any way fancy. You got a meat and a vegetable. Period. Weight Watchers made this one called, I believe, Chicken and Vegetables…I appreciate the straightforwardness of their naming approach. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I know it probably sounds unappetizing, given that it was 80s frozen food made by a diet company, but y’all, I promise you, it was BLISS! I would gladly replace EVERY frozen meal I eat in the future no matter the type (except, maybe, Uncrustables) with this old school Chicken and Vegetables. It was SO good…The texture was AMAZING! *happy sigh!*

SOOOO…ALL of this got me thinking, FINALLY, about the random question I now ask you:

What discontinued foods (or other products, for that matter) do you long to partake of again?

Leave your answers in the Comments!

Hungrily,

Me ๐Ÿ˜€

*Chocolate as a whole tastes different here than it does in the US, much less sweet and melty tasting, at least to my taste buds. Snickers and Rolos taste weird to me here, chocolate ice cream tastes weird, chocolate milk tastes weird (much to my extreme dismay!), the aforementioned hot chocolate, just to name a few. I have pondered much on this, and I have come up with three possible explanations. 1 – They don’t use as much or any high fructose corn syrup. This seems plausible as they use SIGNIFICANTLY less preservatives in the foods here than the US does. 2 – They use different kinds of chocolate. Maybe we use more milk chocolate, and the Brits use more bittersweet or dark chocolate. 3 – A combination of the two. Anyone else who has experience with British chocolate notice a difference?

Responses

  1. Ahh Beech Nut hot chocolate was the BEST! There really is no comparison.

    • OMG!!!!!!!!!!!! You remember it too!?!?!? My mom has no recollection of it whatsoever!!! Reason #375 why you’re fab!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

