Posted by: Anonymous Me | November 3, 2011

Samhuinn 2011

On Monday, I decided to once again attend the Samhuinn Festival. Last year, sadly, my camera died after 5 pictures! This year, I came prepared with a fully charged battery! However, the weather and my camera had other ideas. While I got a bunch of pictures, it started pouring rain just before everything started, and even in the best of weather conditions, my camera is not great with night photography…I kept messing around with the settings to little avail. Despite that, the Festival was fun and great for people watching! I am glad I decided to go! There was no zombie parade this year, but it was a great show nonetheless! On to the pics!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While it’s a bit difficult to explain exactly what’s happening in the pictures…It really is an experience unto itself…I will attempt to explain the Festival itself. Samhuinn is a pagan festival/ceremony celebrating the death of summer at the hands of winter. It is a time to honor the harvest and the seasons and the necessity of going within that comes with the autumn and winter. The ceremony involves a woman who was once the May Queen aka the feminine embodiment of spring and rebirth and her shedding of that identity to become the old crone aka the embodiment of the merciless season of winter. She shifts her allegiance from the Green Man aka the male embodiment of spring/summer to that of the Horned God aka the male embodiment of autumn/winter who thus kills the Green Man, representing the death of the sun as winter takes hold. In the pictures, you will see groups of red peeps and groups of blue peeps. The reds are aligned with the Green Man, and the blues with the Horned God. There are also whites, who I think are aligned with the May Queen/Old Crone. Anyhoo…this could all be totally wrong, but that’s what I’ve been able to glean thus far. ๐Ÿ™‚ You can find more info from the peeps who put on the show here.

Festively,

Me ๐Ÿ˜€

Responses

  1. Aww, that so looks like something I would enjoy! I’m glad you braved the weather! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I definitely think you’d like it! Reason #375 why you should visit me! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

