Posted by: Anonymous Me | October 17, 2011

Poem of the Week…

Let any, who will, still bask in the south
by Anna Akhmatova (1889 – 1966)

Let any, who will, still bask in the south
On the paradisal sand,
It;s northerly here-and this year of the north
Autumn will be my friend.

I’ll live, in a dream, in a stranger’s house
Where perhaps I have died,
Where mirrors keep something mysterious
To themselves in the evening light.

I shall walk between black fir-trees,
Where the wind is at one with the heath,
And a dull splinter of the moon will glint
Like an old knife with jagged teeth.

Our last, blissful unmeeting I shall bring
To sustain me here-
The cold, pure light flame of conquering
What I was destined for.


Photo Source

Autumnally,

Me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

