Posted by: Anonymous Me | April 28, 2011

Food Friday…

I am probably going to be home, away from the internet, tomorrow, so I am posting this a bit early.

Today, it’s homemade ramen aka Chicken Riddle Soup from Hoosier Homemade!

Ingredients
• 1 small onion, chopped fine
• 2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped medium
• 2 celery stalks, chopped medium
• 3-5 chicken bouillon cubes
• 2 tablespoons margarine or butter
• 1/4 teaspoon salt
• 1/8 teaspoon pepper
• 1 garlic clove, minced
• 2 packages Chicken Flavor Ramen Noodles {just the noodles, I didn’t use the seasoning packet}
• Chicken {either a cut-up whole fryer, pieces of chicken or boneless skinless chicken, whatever you like to use}
• 5 cups water

Directions:
1 – Add water to large saucepan, add chicken, onion, celery, carrots, bouillon cubes, salt and pepper and boil on stove for about 30 minutes, depending on how large your chicken is. This will make a nice stock for the soup. Drain saving the liquid, and vegetables.
2 – Saute’ garlic in butter until slightly brown. Add the vegetables and saute’ slightly. Meanwhile, remove bones from chicken.
3 – Add stock {liquid} back into saucepan and bring to boil, add the vegetable and garlic mixture, chicken and noodles {be sure to break them up a bit} Boil for about 5 minutes.
Note: The recipe calls for using boneless skinless chicken and cooking it in oil, but I like the flavor of the broth when you boil the chicken. So I changed it up a bit. You could certainly use the boneless skinless chicken if you want.

My modifications: I didn’t add any salt to this dish, as the flavor from the bouillon cubes was totally sufficient. I used cut up chicken tenders. Also, I probably ended using about twice as many noodles as it calls for since I was able to find the noodles by themselves (as opposed to part of a ramen pack). Knowing I don’t really have another way to use them up, I just threw them all in here and adjusted the liquids accordingly. I have never boiled chicken to cook it before, and it turned really well. I was most pleased with the results. Really tasty! 🙂


Noms in the kitchen?? Kthxbai.

Hungrily,

Me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

