Posted by: Anonymous Me | February 12, 2011

A Confession…

Y’all, I can’t even wait until next week to tell you…

I came all the way from the US to Scotland and from Scotland to Norway. I’ve been places! I’ve done things! But despite my travels and experiences and all my worldliness, I became the ultimate travel cliché today and did the unthinkable. ∗sigh∗ I won’t prolong the pain…I’m just going to say it and get it over with like ripping off a band-aid.

Peeps, my name is Me…

I have travelled from a foreign and magnificent land to another equally magnificent though slightly more foreign land where opportunities to try new and wonderful things abound…

And I had dinner at the TGIFriday’s.

THERE!! I SAID IT!!! But don’t judge me until you’ve heard the whole story!! So, I was walking along the street after having a fab time at the National Gallery (more on that in a later post). I was super hungry and needed some food to revitalize. I walked past a place called Tex Burger, which only made me want to walk in, laugh, and walk back out. But I figured that would be unkind. As I kept walking, I saw the sign for the TGIFriday’s. ‘You have GOT to be kidding,’ I said to myself. ‘I have to see what they are serving at the TGIFriday’s in NORWAY.’ ∗haughty smirk, chuckle, haughty smirk∗ So, I walk over and peruse the menu that’s posted on the outside of the door. Immediately my eyes go to the dessert menu and land eagerly upon the words ‘Oreo Madness’. Basically, two huge Oreo ice cream sandwiches (a la the Oreo Klondike ice cream sandwiches that I LOVE…A shocking pronouncement, I’m sure. ;)) slathered with fudge and possibly caramel. Anyhoo…They had me at Oreo ice cream. I got to the bar and figured…If you’re gonna do it, do it to the most. SO, I ordered a Coke (is Pepsi ok? Sure, my mom would approve.), the loaded potato skins (May I have sour cream as well? You mean the dressing that goes on the side? Uuuhhhh…Sure?), and my dessert. So, I’m chowing down on my potato skins with cheese, bacon bits, and sour cream (it’s the little victories in life that make it worth while, I’m just sayin’… ;)), when the bartender tells me they are out of the Oreo Madness for the day. WHAT!?!?! But that’s the only reason I’m here, maxing out my calorie intake for the next 5 days!! So, I ended up with the Brownie Sundae instead (my mom would approve of that as well.). It was really, really, really, really good. While I was eating, I also watched a ski jump competition (shown on the tv in the bar area) as if it was personally important to me. Because that’s how I roll. 😉

Anyhoo…I feel a lot better now that I’ve cleansed my soul. My penance is the headache currently residing on the left side of my head from eating too much sugar. Fair is fair, I guess. 😀

I hope your weekend is going well!

Stereotypically,

Me 😉

Responses

  1. Not as bad as you may think. I was in CHINA and I ate at McDonalds, willingly! Desperate times call for very desperate measures. It’s a lot better than the alternative that night, which was Lamb Testicle Soup. Serious.

    The sad part of the story is when the family just made it for dinner the next night and I had to eat it anyway.

    Sigh.


Leave a Reply

Categories

