Posted by: Anonymous Me | February 5, 2011

Belated Food Friday

Another late addition! I promise to be on time next week!

Nothing too fancy this time around…Sloppy Joes (from allrecipes.com)!

~ 1 lb ground beef
~ 1/4 cup chopped onion
~ 1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper (which I omit because I am not a huge fan)
~ 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
~ 3/4 cup ketchup (I added more as I like mine tomatoey.)
~ 1 teaspoon of mustard (I added a bit more for tang…and I also put some on the hamburger bun.)
~ 3 teaspoons of brown sugar
~ salt and pepper to taste
~ hamburger buns

1 – Over medium heat, brown the beef, onions, and bell pepper.
2 – Once browned, drain liquids.
3 – Stir in garlic powder, mustard, ketchup, and brown sugar until mixed thoroughly.
4 – Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

The result:

This was my first time making Sloppy Joes without the aid of Manwich, and I was surprised at how easy and yummy they were!

On a side note…Can the world’s problems be solved with crinkle cut french fries??? No, probably not. Should the world’s problems be able to be solved using crinkle cut french fries??? Abso-friggin’-lutely!!!

In my mind, representatives of two disputing factions come into room yelling and arguing. It looks like a resolution cannot be attained. After much discord, someone sees some crinkle cuts on the table and stops what he/she is doing. Everyone else turns to see what this person is looking at. They, too, see the fries and fall silent. “There are crinkle cut french fries present!!! Let there be peace among our peoples so we may enjoy their potatoey fabulousness together in harmony for generations to come!!!!”

I’m just sayin’… 😉

Agreeably,

Me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

