Posted by: Anonymous Me | February 3, 2011

Listography 2011 – List #6

To participate, just scope the new list here every Wednesday.

This week: List your favorite artists.

Oh man! I loooooooove art! In fact, had I the money, my walls would be covered in paintings and photographs! One day… 😉 But not all art is visual…

Musical Artist:

Shocking…I know…

Def Leppard…Are they the greatest band to ever play? No. Have they contributed more to the development of rock music than any other band? Certainly not. Have they produced some questionable material as of late?? Sadly, yes. BUT…Have they been part of the soundtrack of my life for the past 23 years?? Yes. Do I always go back to their music and get re-excited by what I hear (minus the aforementioned subparness)? Absolutely. Will I love, adore, and worship them as my #1 fave band til the day I die and beyond??? Abso-friggin’-lutely. 😀

Literary Artists:

Pablo Neruda…Oh. My. God. Can this man write a love poem!!! Seriously…I swoon just thinking about it! To illustrate this point, a bonus Poem of the Week:

XX
Tonight I can write the saddest lines.

Write for example, ‘The night is shattered
and the blue stars shiver in the distance.’

The night wind revolves in the sky and sings.

Tonight I can write the saddest lines.
I loved her, and sometimes she loved me too.

Through nights like this one I held her in my arms.
I kissed her again and again under the endless sky.

She loved me, sometimes I loved her too.
How could one not have loved her great still eyes.

Tonight I can write the saddest lines.
To think that I do not have her. To feel that I have lost her.

To hear immense night, still more immense without her.
And the verse falls to the soul like dew to a pasture.

What does it matter that my love could not keep her.
The night is shattered and she is not with me.

This is all. In the distance someone is singing. In the distance.
My soul is not satisfied that it has lost her.

My sight searches for her as though to go to her.
My heart looks for her, and she is not with me.

The same night whitening the same trees.
We, of that time, are no longer the same.

I no longer love her, that’s certain, but how I loved her.
My voice tried to find the wind to touch her hearing.

Another’s. She will be another’s. Like my kisses before.
Her voice. Her bright body. Her infinite eyes.

I no longer love her, that’s certain, but maybe I love her.
Love is so short, forgetting is so long.

Because through nights like this one I held her in my arms
my soul is not satisfied that it has lost her.

Though this be the last pain that she makes me suffer
and these the last verses that I write for her.

*happy, romantic, swoony, stars in my eyes sigh*

Paolo Coehlo…I am inspired by every book of his I’ve read…5 so far. From The Fifth Mountain:
‘…I want to know who’s best at using a sword. ‘
‘The best is the one who’s most like a rock,’ answered the commander. ‘Without drawing its blade, it proves that no one can defeat it.’
– pg. 127
Shakespeare…The man can write a play…And the sonnets are pretty ok too. 😉
Nathaniel Hawthorne…specifically, The Scarlet Letter…I’m in awe of every page.
Alice Hoffman…I’ve read 17 of her books so far…She paints a picture for all 5 senses to enjoy.
Amy Tan…I’d be hard-pressed to find a more accurate description of mother-daughter relationships…
Madeleine L’Engle…I’ve probably read at least 20 of her books…Her children’s books defined my childhood and adolescence…

Visual artists:

#1, hands down, Michelangelo:

The Pietà

Gustav Klimt

Sea Serpents IV

Diego Rivera

The Lily Seller

Picasso

El Greco

The Burial of the Count of Orgaz

Van Gogh

Starry Night

Francisco de Goya

from his early years as the court painter…


to the end of his years aka “The Black Period”

Rodin

The Kiss

And of course, Mother Nature/the Divine Artist

Artistically,

Me! 😀

Responses

  1. Ok, great list, and I’m pretty sure I have slept on the very beach in the last shot! Best accomodations in HI, $3 a night.

  2. Emerging Artists….Timothy Sorsdahl, Rabi Khan, Natasha Westcoat
    Established Modern Artists….Gustav Klimt, Salvador Dali, Vincent Van Gogh

    Hey girl! Thanks for the postcard! I cracked up when I read it!

    Love you!

    • I am glad you got (and liked) the postcard! YAY international postal service!!! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

