Posted by: Anonymous Me | February 1, 2011

Recent Developments…

A quick update on my life’s happenings…

I decided to step a little outside my box this semester and try and meet new peeps who share similar interests with me. In that vein, I have joined the Tango Society and Modern Dance Society so I can take super cheap tango and ballet classes (a couple of dollars per class)!

I have gone the past two weeks, and I really enjoy both classes. I feel I have a good base to draw from for tango as I have done partner dancing before (Country Western dancing)…This really has come in handy in terms of being able to interpret and anticipate what the person leading me will do next. I am excited to start this as one of the items on my bucket list is to be able to do a meeeeean tango, so I am on my way! πŸ˜€

As for the ballet…I have LONGED to take a ballet class for ages, and I am glad I found one that is so budget-friendly. While I can still do the leaps and turns (YAY!), my body definitely feels the 20 years it’s been since I was last in a real ballet class. Oh man! Plies are killers! First it was my ankle, then my knees! As much as I love getting older in terms of mental and emotional maturity and perspective, the effects of aging on the body are seriously no bueno. 😦 BUT, I love the class either way. One of the reasons I LOVE LOVE LOVE dancing in all its forms is because I’m in my head, thinking, thinking, thinking ALL THE TIME, and dance actually gets me out of my head and into my body. I need as much of that as possible! πŸ˜€

The tv is still in the closet, where it will be staying indefinitely. However, I am finding that I can not live by books, internet, and solitaire alone! πŸ˜‰ To add some escapism back into my life, I signed myself up for Blockbuster’s Netflix-esque service. I get two DVDs per week. It’s very exciting! Saturday night is my Blockbuster night where I lounge on the futon with the kids, eat food that’s not overly healthy, and watch movies on my laptop. I LOVE IT! So far…because I have the movie interests of a 7 year old…I have watched the cartoon version of Robin Hood (one of my all-time faves), Nanny McPhee 2, Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief (Did anyone else find this to be a poor man’s Harry Potter??), and the Robert Downey/Jude Law version of Sherlock Holmes. Has anyone else seen this version of Sherlock Holmes? I thought it was good…but…not. I don’t know. The story didn’t quite flow, in my opinion. If you saw it, what did you think?? Anyhoo…I am SO happy I’ve done this. It helps alleviate the desire for overconsumption of tv programs. πŸ™‚

In bigger news…I’m planning a trip with myself for Valentine’s Day aka Singles Awareness Day.

LOL! Anyhoo…One of my friends told me about a couple of British airlines that offer really great fares. I scoped it out, and I’m going to visit….drumroll please….


Oslo, Norway!!!

WOOOO!!!! I got the total roundtrip fare for about $45. I am super excited. One of the girls in my class is from Norway, so she’s going to hook me up with all the info! πŸ™‚ I will keep you posted on further developments!! YAY! πŸ˜€

Excitedly,

Me!

Responses

  1. $45 RT to Norway. That is amazing!! Send pictures!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

