Posted by: Anonymous Me | January 21, 2011

Food Friday!

On the agenda this week: Chicken Tortilla Soup!

I had really been craving something Mexican-y, and I searched high and low for a recipe that would incorporate ingredients I had on hand. I cannot believe how tasty this turned out to be…but more on that after the recipe!

Chicken Tortilla Soup
recipe by: Danny Boome of the Food Network

~ 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
~ 1 small onion, diced
~ 2 tablespoons minced garlic
~ 2 jalapenos, finely diced
~ 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth
~ 1 (14.5-ounce) can fire roasted diced tomatoes
~ 1 (14.5-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
~ 3 chicken breasts, boneless and skinless
~ 2 limes, juiced, plus wedges for garnish
~ Salt and freshly ground black pepper
~ 1 cup roughly chopped fresh cilantro leaves
~ 1 (8-inch) flour tortilla, grilled, cut into thin strips
~ 1 avocado, pitted, sliced
~ 1 cup shredded Monterrey cheese

1 – In a large saucepan heat the vegetable oil. Add the onions and cook for 2 minutes.
2 – Once the onions have softened add the garlic and jalepenos and cook for another minute.
3 – Pour the chicken broth, tomatoes and beans into the pot and bring to a boil.
4 – Once at a boil lower heat to simmer and add your chicken breasts.
5 – Cook the chicken for 20 to 25 minutes.
6 – Once chicken is cooked remove from pot. When cool enough to handle shred it and set it aside.
7 – Add lime juice and fresh cilantro to the pot.
8 – In a serving bowl add a mound of shredded chicken.
9 – Ladle soup over chicken and top with a lime wedge, grilled tortilla strips, avocado slices and cheese.

So, the reason I was so shocked by the how good this ended up being is because I basically changed everything in the recipe to suit what I had. Here are the modifications I made:

~ I didn’t have lime or avocado, and I don’t like jalapeño so I left those out.
~ I have dried cilantro, but I forgot to add it so that didn’t make it in either.
~ I subbed a can of red kidney beans for the black beans.
~ I subbed a can of regular diced tomatoes for the fire-roasted tomatoes.
~ I didn’t have the tortillas to make my own strips (which I wouldn’t have wanted to do anyway), so I used Doritos plain tortilla chips instead.
~ I didn’t have chicken breasts, but I had 6 baked chicken legs I made the night before. I took all the meat off the bones, removed the skins, cut of the jointy parts, and shredded the meat to the best of my ability. After simmering the soup for about 20 minutes, I added the chicken and simmered for another 20-30 minutes in hopes the chicken would get tender.
~ Also, after reading the comments on the site, I only used 3 cups of chicken broth per one of the recommendations. I added a bit of water later for more liquid.
~ Also per one of the comment suggestions, I added some cumin which I eyeballed…I was going to add chili powder which I thought I had…turns out I don’t. So I eyeballed some paprika as well.

Anyhoo…here’s the end result:

And here it is with the tortilla chips, cheese, and sour cream added in:

It tasted SOOOOO good!

Enjoy!

Experimentally,

Me! 😀

Responses

  1. Yum. I was on a Taco Soup kick for a while last month and we must have had it seven times. It is definitely a great comfort food on a rainy day!

  2. That looks delicious! I’ll have to try it sometime. Good to know it’s flexible, because I’m not sure I have everything… haha. Thanks for sharing! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

