Posted by: Anonymous Me | January 19, 2011

Quote of the Week…

**WARNING: This post may or may not allude to male naughty bits. Caveat lector. (Huzzah, two years of high school Latin! I knew you’d come in handy some day!!)**

**But seriously, there is a high possibility you might be scandalized if you are my mom, the Captain Marvel, or the Captain Marvel’s friends. You may want to abort this mission and read about Gladys, my palm plant, again. You’ve been warned.**

It has been quite a week for fashion here in Edinburgh. Yesterday, I saw a guy wearing what I at first thought were really saggy shorts but turned out to be dude capris. I didn’t know such a thing existed, but I guess I moved to a different country to be exposed to new things so 1 point to the E! And then today, one of my professors (a recent PhD grad) showed up to class wearing harem pants (the pants version of the harem shorts featured in this post). Now, I have no problem with harem pants that look like they could actually be worn in a for realz harem.


Like this…


Or even this…


But THIS?!?!? This looks like you’re trying to hide something…namely that you have a peen. I’m just sayin’. I mean seriously, doesn’t that give you the same impression as well??

Which leads me to the Quote of the Week, and the fact that while I may not agree with certain fashion choices (or all fashion choices if your name is Lady Gaga), I don’t think any less of someone because of them. (I love Lady Gaga. That she felt the need to sacrifice so many Kermits on the altar of avant-garde fashion has not lessened my enjoyment of her music.) I look like total poo most days so bygones and all that. πŸ˜€ Anyhoo…on to the quote for serious this time!

Once you can accept the universe as matter expanding into nothing that is something, wearing stripes with plaid comes easy.
–Albert Einstein

Amen to that!

Sartorially,

Me! πŸ˜‰

Responses

  1. Me. it is “caveat emptor” buyer beware–I think lector was Hannibal’s last name–and I don’t think Jodie Foster liked him:)
    ciao amica

    • Mia Amica…actually caveat lector means reader beware. πŸ™‚

      • mi dispiace—-(:

        • LOL! No probs! πŸ™‚ I am more than a bit of a spaz, so I appreciate you keeping me in line! πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you. That third photo is wretched. I love “real” harem pants that are loose and flowing and bloused at the bottom (and would totally wear the pair in the first photo, but only at home after dark), but what the heck is that designer thinking and does he (sexist assumption) not realize that the model is scowling because she knows she looks ridiculous? πŸ™‚

  3. Have you ever seen a toddler get out of the swimming pool wearing a diaper–not one made for swimming but like a Huggies or Pampers diaper when it’s bogged down with water and heaven knows what else and all the little bits inside have expanded? –The last picture brings this to mind–I rest my case, your honor.

    • It took me a second to get the connection…but ROFL!!!!! TRUE THAT!!!!! Yet another reason I cannot get down with those pants!


Leave a Reply

Categories

