Posted by: Anonymous Me | January 16, 2011

Listography 2011 – List #3

What do you find incomprehensible?

Oh man! That’s tough because it’s very easy to put things on the list I understand but with which I completely disagree (racism, for example). So, I will try to leave those ones out, which will probably make for a much shorter list. πŸ™‚

~ certain aspects of religious belief, its uses and justifications – I am not a polemicist, and this site is not dedicated to rabble-rousing so I will just leave it at that.

~ certain aspects of political belief – See explanation above.

~ anything really, really abstract – lots of things fall under this category: theory of any kind, physics, quantum mechanics, high level economics, high level philosophy, etc.

~ in relation to the above, anything math-related – I can hang with addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division, but when the numbers start getting imaginary and all that, I am out!, also chemistry, more physics, some philosophy (intro to logic was such a beat down), etc.

~ why some girls/ladies view leggings as something other than a foundational garment – Leggings are NOT pants, people!! and should not be worn as such, unless in a workout/exercise capacity. If you’re wearing a shirt over leggings, it better be a tunic, for pete’s sake! Unless you’re under the age of 12…if so, then rock leggings all day, every day! It’s all good!

This outfit will never make sense to me.

~ a corollary to the above: how anyone in their right mind thinks harem shorts are EVER attractive

See! I just threw up a little in my mouth. UGH!

~ corollary #2: the previously documented shorts/tights phenomenon

~ people who have on an all black outfit with brown shoes (and not because those are the only shoes/clothes available, I am not hating on folk with limited resources!) – UGH! This is SO not the way!! Even just black pants with brown shoes…more UGH!

To quote Sesame Street, “One of these things does not belong…” πŸ™‚

~ people who deny events/phenomena that are well-documented – for example, evolution-esque type things (not the religious/spiritual aspect of creation but the sciencey part) – Walk with me for a minute…If the Earth is only several thousand years old as creationists believe, then humans were on the planet at the time of the dinosaurs. How in the world would we have survived that? So, let’s say we’re being chased by a T-rex. Assuming we have a really big lead on it, we are able to escape by running into a cave with an opening too small for it to fit through, going any where else, and he would get us! Whew! That was close! But wait! What’s that noise in the corner?? Umm…guess what? T-rex has cousins that are just like it but smaller, and they CAN fit through the opening! Zoinks! So, now we’re dealing with velociraptors and those things with fan things on its head like the one that was in the truck with that guy in “Jurassic Park”. Oh man! I just don’t think we, as a species, could have survived that. There were just too many other animals alive at that time whose goal in life was to be killing machines. I just can’t comprehend how enough of us would survive that to then go on and populate the planet. I’m just sayin’…And also, EVERY dating process that’s been for EVERY dinosaur bone EVER found would have to be wrong. I’m not saying that couldn’t happen. I could wake up tomorrow and take a trip to Thailand to have a sex change. That could happen too, but it’s really, really, really unlikely. And just to reiterate, this has nothing to do with the divine aspects of creation, just what happened after that. πŸ™‚ That was so long!
Other things on this list: people who don’t think the natural/normal process of climate change is being exponentially exacerbated by human activity, and people who say the Holocaust (and other devastating human events) never happened.

Hmm…I think that’s about it. After typing all this stuff, let me say that just because it’s incomprehensible to me doesn’t mean it doesn’t make sense to you! If you wear black leggings with brown boots every single day while solving physics proofs, and knowing that humans were saved from the dinosaurs because of God’s love, that’s FINE! I am SOOO NOT a hater!! I am not here to judge anyone!! I am not prettier, smarter, or better than anyone else (although I DO have better hair than most people in my family, but I don’t judge them for that! ;)). Like we say in the South, it takes ALL kinds! Amen/Go Team!! πŸ˜€

Incomprehensibly,

Me!

Responses

  1. hey – so I’m leaving lots of comments, but I just couldn’t resist commenting on this. I think we have almost EXACTLY the same beliefs (for lack of a better term). Crazy. But all of these things listed here I find incomprehensible as well. Seriously. (Although creationists and intelligent design people annoy the hell out of me, and I generally avoid talking about that with them so as not to judge/offend. ha because like you, I’m not a hater, but some people… πŸ˜‰ ) Great post!

    -Em

    ps. added you to my blogroll. πŸ™‚

    • Indeed! I am always happy to meet a kindred spirit! πŸ™‚ Thanks for thinking the post is good. I try not to bring up things that will stir debate because I HATE debating. And I also try not to judge…I am may vehemently disagree with someone’s beliefs. I may even think he/she is ridiculous for thinking certain things, but I know what a goof I am and I’m sure that person feels the same way about me. If we agree to disagree/not talk about it, then we can go on being peeps/e-peeps. All you need is love, right! πŸ™‚ Thanks also for the blogroll add! πŸ™‚

      ~ Me!

      • I know how you feel. Agreeing to disagree is a wonderful concept — one people should take into consideration more often I think. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

