Posted by: Anonymous Me | January 15, 2011

Listography 2011 – Lists 1 and 2

Hello, peeps! So, I commented on a post on wordpress.com asking for anyone who’d like a blogging buddy for encouragement and motivation. I’ve already made the e-cquaintance of several super neat fellow bloggers! Welcome new e-peeps!!! 🙂 One of the aforementioned bloggers, Beth, has a blog I probably should know nothing about. She and a group of other bloggers are responding to all the Listography 2011 prompts. You can check out Beth’s site here. Do I need a reason to make a ton more lists than I already do?? No, probably not. Am I going to do it anyway?? Absotively! 😀

List #1 – Goals for 2011 – Done! It’s like the planets aligned so I could be prepared for massive amounts of list-making challenges! WOO!

List #2 – List the books that have made you cry – May I just say the spreadsheet comes in SO handy for things like this! From my last ten years of reading, here, in chronological order, is what I can remember welling up over (I’ll try to explain why if it won’t give away too much of the plot):
~ A Walk to Remember – Nicholas Sparks
~ A Crack in Forever – Jeannie Brewer
~ The Loop – Nicholas Evans – This book has stayed with since I read it in 2001. So thought provoking and upsetting. If reading about bad things happening to animals makes you upset, you probably shouldn’t read it…In fact, even though it’s a *really* well-written book and a compelling read, I almost wish I hadn’t. 😦
~ Firebird – Janice Graham – A TOTALLY unexpected love story.
~ The Kitchen God’s Wife – Amy Tan – The following quote had me sobbing…In fact, I could cry now reading it again…
‘Remember that boy you thought you could not live without? What was his name? Randy. You don’t remember? He was the first boy to pay you any attention. You brought him home one time for dinner.
I watched how you smiled every time he spoke, how he paid no attention when you spoke. You said, Have something to eat. And he did not say, No, no, you first, you have something to eat yourself. He said, Do you have any beer in the house? And you were so embarrassed, you said, Sorry. I’m real sorry.
Later I told you, BE careful, be careful. And you said, What are you talking about? I said, That man considers himself first, you second, and maybe later you will be third or fourth, then never. But you would not believe me. So I said, If you always tell him you are sorry now, you will always be sorry later.
You know what you said to me? “Ma, why are you so negative-thinking?” This was not negative thinking! This was thinking for my daughter because she could not think for herself.
And later, you did not mention his name anymore. But I saw your broken heart, your good heart, trying to keep all the pieces together, trying not to let me know. So I said nothing. You said nothing.
I wasn’t going to tell you “I told you so.” Nothing of the kind. My heart was breaking for you too. Because I know how it is to have a good heart, an innocent heart. When I was young, I had a good heart too. I did not know how to look at a person like Wen Fu and think to myself, This man can cause me lots of trouble. This man can take my innocence away. This man will be the reason I will always have to tell my daughter, Be careful, be careful.’ – pages 132-133
I read this book at a time when my mom and I didn’t have the greatest relationship. We were in the process of getting to know each other as adults. This makes me cry because that is exactly how my mom would react in that kind of situation. And because I would not understand where she was coming from, I would react in that exact same way. I remember that time so vividly, and that’s another reason it makes me cry. My heart breaks for the girl/young woman I was, willing to sacrifice who I was in order to win/keep some guy’s attention. *sigh*
~ The Notebook- Nicholas Sparks – Seriously, y’all, Nicholas Sparks cannot be denied! I am a BIG romantic, and as they say here in the UK, Mr. Sparks ticks all the boxes. Case in point: ‘I love you, Allie. I am who I am because of you. You are every reason, every hope, and every dream I’ve ever had, and no matter what happens to us in the future, every day was together is the greatest day of my life. I will always be yours. And, my darling, you will always be mine.’ – pg 176
– Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas – James Patterson – If romance is your thing like it is mine, then you should know: this one is the mother lode! Example: ‘Well I can’t help thinking of this whenever we’re together. I think, isn’t it lucky that Suzanne didn’t die in Boston and we have today to be together. Now we get to watch the sunset. Or isn’t it lucky Suzanne didn’t die and we’re sitting out on her front porch playing hearts or watching a stupid Red Sox game. Or listening to Mozart or even that smarmy love song you like by Savage Garden. I keep thinking, isn’t this day, this moment, incredibly special, because you’re here, Suzanne.’ – Pg. 113 I have read this book three times so far, and I keep coming back for more! 🙂
– The Joy Luck Club – Amy Tan
– How to Make an American Quilt – Whitney Otto
– We Need To Talk About Kevin – Lionel Shriver – If you have not read this book, you need to get on it STAT! It is quite possibly the most intense book I’ve ever read. And that’s about all I can say without giving anything away…
– Darkness Visible – William Styron – The author’s description of living life with depression. I have struggled for many years with depression, and it was like reading about my own life.
– Atonement – Ian McEwan
– The Dogs of Bedlam Farm – John Katz – Sobbed like a baby! I cannot deal with sad animal story lines!! This one wasn’t upsetting like The Loop…just sad.
– Monique and the Mango Rains – Kris Holloway
– Love You, Mean It – Eve Charles – A book about the lives of four 9/11 widows.
– Dance of the Dissident Daughter – Sue Monk Kidd
– Traveling with Pomegranates – Sue Monk Kidd & Ann Kidd Taylor – This was like reading about my relationship with my mother, which is now great by the way. But still, mother-daughter stories always touch me. Love you, Mom! 🙂

I guess that’s it. Have I mentioned that when I come across a quote I like, I add it to my quote database??? And no, I’m not crazy, just thorough! 😉

Thoroughly ;),

ME! 😀

Responses

  1. I love my daughter oh so much. Glad we survived the teen years and are now best friends and enjoy each other’s company so much.

  2. Okay, try it now. Hopefully it works this time 🙂

  3. P.S. This list is a list I needed to get myself excited about the 50 book challenge. I have been in a romance mood but have re-read all my favorites and can’t find some new enchanting story since I keep going back to the others like an old boyfriend.

    🙂

    • If you are big on romance novels, have you read Jennifer Crusie? She is the BEST romance novel writer, in my humble opinion. 🙂

  4. hey – saw your comment on the buddy thing, so I decided to check your blog out. Some of these books I’ve read, others I haven’t… and now I want to! Thanks for the list, I’m always looking for new reads! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for stopping by!! YAY books! 😀
      ~ Me!

      • I just went to Barnes and Noble today 🙂 gotta love ’em. Also, are you still looking for a buddy? my blog is emilywynn.wordpress.com! I don’t really know what buddies do for each other, but we can try it out 🙂

        ps. about the headphones thing — I’ve almost done that multiple times. I’m always paranoid about that! haha.

  5. Hey, that quote collection is a good idea. I should start one of those. Meanwhile, that actually reminded me of a book that DID make me cry, so I’m off to update my list. And thanks for the shout out about my blog!

  6. When Amy Tan writes a mother speaking to her daughter, I ALWAYS cry. She has just nailed that voice. Thanks for visiting The Wordstress!


Leave a Reply

Categories

