Posted by: Anonymous Me | January 3, 2011

Welcome to Poem of the Week!!

I have often felt I should read more poetry. The following quotes always add fuel to that fire:

Don’t use the phone.
People are never ready to answer it.
Use Poetry.
‘Scattered Poems’, Jack Kerouac

Ink runs from the corners of my mouth.
There is no happiness like mine.
I have been eating poetry.
Mark Strand

But what really inspired me to take action was this:

“If I had my life to live over again, I would have made a rule to read some poetry and listen to some music at least once a week.”
–Charles Darwin

SO, in that vein, I present to you the Poem of the Week! Each week I will post a new poem for your (and my) reading pleasure! If you have a fave poem you’d like me to include, please leave a comment to let me know the title and author, and I will post it so we can all savor it! Enjoy! 😀

New Year Snow
by Frances Horovitz (1938-1983)

For three days we waited,
a bowl of dull quartz for sky.
At night the valley dreamed of snow,
lost Christmas angels with dark-white wings
flailing the hills.
I dreamed a poem, perfect
as the first five-pointed flake,
that melted at dawn:
a Janus-time
to peer back at guttering dark days,
trajectories of the spent year.
And then snow fell.
Within an hour, a world immaculate
as January’s new-hung page.
We breathe the radiant air like men new-born.
The children rush before us.
As in a dream of snow
we track through crystal fields
to the green horizon
and the sun’s reflected rose.

Poetically,

Me 😉

Responses

  1. Desiderata by Max Ehrmann!


Leave a Reply

Categories

