Posted by: Anonymous Me | January 1, 2011

2010 – The Survey

I found this while randomly surfing online…YAY! 🙂

1. What did you do in 2010 that you had never done before?
• Moved (myself and the cats) out of the US
• Went to grad school
• Shoved a person who pissed me off (not my best moment, but I didn’t hit anyone, so that’s a positive!) 😉
• Lived with my dad
• Was without my cats for more than 5 days
• Ate at The Cheesecake Factory (magically delicious!…and expensive :()
• Called into a radio show and got on the air!
• Attended a pagan ritual (The Samhuinn Festival)
• Walked to school and to the grocery store
• Lived on the 4th floor
• Saw a shadow person
• Took a train to get somewhere
• Got my haircut at a semi-fancy salon
• Sold my car
• Took a city bus to get somewhere
• Went to the Aquarium (Y’all should totally go! It’s awesome!)

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions? Will you make more for next year?
I pretty much did. The grad school goal was the most important, and I achieved that, so the rest is cake! 🙂

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
As a matter of fact, YES! Baby E was born to my best friend, PPP, in April. My older sister, Supah Stah, had baby L in August! YAY! 😀

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Thankfully, no! And let’s keep it that way! 🙂 Though the co-owner of the company I used to work for did pass away a few days ago. He was good peeps! RIP, Pat! 😦

5. What countries did you visit?
England and Scotland!!! WOOO!

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
More exercise, more travel, more studying, more effective budget adherence!

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory? Why are they
memorable?
April 4th, the day I found out I got accepted to my number 1 choice for grad school! September 20th, the day I came to Scotland.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Got accepted to and attended grad school in Scotland!

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not using my time to my best advantage. Dang you, tv and solitaire!!!

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
No, not really! In 2009, I had 10 ear infections…this year I only had 2…which for me is freaking amazing!!

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My blue jacket from Charlotte Russe and my grey fuzzy boots from DSW. Also, I really like the dress I wore for my going away HH! 🙂

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My friends and fam for being so supportive of me! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
The guy who runs the hostel I stayed at! UGH!!!!!!! Were I practitioner of voodoo, I would SO be sticking pins in his straw effigy on a daily basis!!!

14. Where did most of your money go?
Preparing for and completing my move, along with the cats, overseas.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Getting accepted to grad school!!! 🙂

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
“What Do You Want From Me” by Adam Lambert, “Need You Now” by Lady Antebellum, “Video Phone” by Beyonce and Lady Gaga

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? the same, probably
c) richer or poorer? poorer

18. What do you wish you had done more?
Travelled, read.

19. What do you wish you had done less?
Shopping, watched tv.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
With myself and the cats, making dinner, and watching tv.

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?
I fell in love with Edinburgh! 😀

22. How many one-night stands?
None! Have I mentioned the man-famine in my vicinity?!?! 😉

23. What was your favorite TV program?
Merlin and Shaun the Sheep 😀

24. Do you hate anyone now that you did not hate this time last year?
No…I don’t really hate anyone presently! WOO!

25. What was the best book you read?
Let me consult my spreadsheet :D…The Center Cannot Hold by Elyn Saks. An excellent book! I highly recommend it! Also, Brida and By The River Piedra I Sat Down And Wept (a re-read) both by Paolo Coehlo. I have yet to read something of his that does not deeply resonate with me.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I’ve really enjoyed the musical stylings of Straight No Chaser. Their version of “Wonderwall” breaks my heart every time I hear it. Also, there may be some Tony Bennett in my future. 🙂

27. What did you want and get?
Acceptance into grad school!

28. What did you want and not get?
Financial aid in a timely manner…better late than never, I suppose. 🙂

29. What was your favorite film of this year?
OMG, I have no idea how many movies I saw, which ones I saw, or what I thought of them…Hmmm…Avatar was pretty good. I really liked Harry Potter #7, Part 1. I watched a lot of really good documentaries with my mom – King Corn, Food, Inc.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Read for my essays. Woo. 😉 I turned 31!

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Not having to deal with hostel guy.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
Well, at this point, I would say functional and weather-appropriate. I am sorely missing having a sense of style. 😦

33. What kept you sane?
Keeping my goals in mind, talking with friends.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Zac Efron! I know he’s such a young’n, but there’s something about him… 😀

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
Hmmm…I try to keep politics completely out of my mind. I guess maybe the protests here in the UK over tuition increases.

36. Whom did you miss?
My family and friends…and Mexican food. 🙂

37. Who was the best new person you met?
Baby E 😀

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010:
Even dreams that seem far away are reachable if you chip away at them slowly but surely. 😀

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
From “Funkytown” by Lipps Inc.:

Gotta make a move to a
Town that’s right for me
Town to get me movin’
Keep me gvoovin’ with some
Energy.

Well, I talk about it,
Talk about it,
Talk about it,
Talk about it,
Talk about, Talk about,
Talk about movin,

Gotta move on.
Gotta move on.
Gotta move on.

WOO!! 😀

Please feel free to copy this, delete my answers, and post your answers in the comments (or you can send me an e-mail!)! 😀

Thoroughly,

Me!!! 😀

Responses

  1. […] “Updates From the Field,” American grad student in Scotland I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions. I find them restricting. Why wait for January to change what needs to be changed? […]

    A Note from Me: I saw this come up in my comments section, and I was all WTH?? Apparently, this newsy type website did a search for goals and what not among various blogs, and they quoted my blog! WOO! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

