Posted by: Anonymous Me | December 31, 2010

Annual Review – 2010

I first came across the notion of doing a self annual review when reading this article late in 2009. As much as I love spreadsheets, I don’t go into quite the detail he does, but I do find the process of an annual review to be a very useful enterprise. I highly recommend it! πŸ™‚ I personally do the review at its most basic level – I look back at the year and assess what went right and what went wrong. For this year, I have a bit of help. I saved an e-mail that went around my office on January 5th that had questions about goals and so forth. SO, I use this as my starting point for my assessment. The pertinent questions are below along with my results for the year.

1. Top 3 goals for 2010:
1. Improve my physical well-being by exercising and eating healthfully.
~ I wish I could say I did way better on this point than I did. This goal didn’t really come to fruition until I moved to Scotland and had to walk everywhere. Also, I haven’t eaten fast food since I moved (Sept. 20th) which helps also!
2. Pay off remaining credit card balances.
~ I did pay off all my credit cards before I moved! YAY! However, because of the time it took to get my bank account set up and because of shortfalls, I have had to use a credit card a bit (only one though!). I am at about 1/2 of my limit presently. I am not pleased about that, but I will be paying it down in the new year.
3. Improve myself via education.
~ I was at work when I originally filled out this e-mail, and though I knew I was trying to get into grad school, I didn’t want anyone else to know! So, this was my code for get into grad school. Check! πŸ˜€

3. Top 3 places you want to go in 2010:
1. Austin to see my cousins
~ Check!! I miss you guys!!! πŸ™‚
2. Scotland or Ireland
~ Scotland – BIG CHECK! πŸ˜€
3. ??? – the budget is super small this year!
~ Indeed so! Austin and Edinburgh are about it…but that’s ok with me!!!

5. Top 3 things you want to try in 2010:
1. Forgiveness
~ I don’t know that I will ever be able to say I’ve checked this off the list…but I’m better than I used to be. I know it sounds odd to those who know me, but I am totally mellowing with age!! (You should’ve met me when I was 17!!! Just ask my mom!! ;))
2. Self-like (one step at a time) as opposed to self-loathing
~ I think I am actually doing pretty well on this one! YAY!
3. Not buying anything but the necessities…we’ll see how long I can go!
~ Well…I wouldn’t say this was a fail, but I definitely could’ve done better. The adherence to the budget is BIG on next year’s goals (more on that tomorrow!).

8. Top 3 wishes for 2010:
1. To be less feisty towards others.
~ See forgiveness above. πŸ™‚
2. To have access to a variety of ways to improve myself via education.
~ Done! πŸ˜€
3. To stay strong in the face of potential new purchases! (Dillards, I attempt to shun thee!!!)
~ Work in progress!! πŸ˜‰

So that leads me to my usual part of the review process – what went right and what went wrong:

YAY! Things that went right:
~ Getting into and coming to grad school IN FREAKING SCOTLAND!!!!!!!!! Y’all I still can’t believe I am here!
~ Quitting my job to go to grad school (which is sort of a given)…However, I will say I feel I am so much more on the right path to fulfilling my own happiness than I ever was in 10 years of working in the corporate world (shocking, I know! ;)).
~ Bringing the cats with me – I know people (and by that I mean pretty much EVERYONE) thought/thinks it was stupid, ridiculous, foolish, silly, and/or unmanageable to bring them here, but I care not! It is one of the best decisions I made about the move. They bring more happiness to my life than there are words to describe it. And if Maximus was still alive (may he rest in peace), I would’ve brought him too!! We’re family for better or worse! We sink or swim together!! πŸ™‚
~ Doing a better job of working on my health, which because I have to walk everywhere isn’t really much of an option…However, I will say that staying away from fast food (as mentioned above) has helped too!

Aww!! Things that went not-so-right :(:
~ Y’all, I am going to be honest. My time management skills are complete poo. Doing my best to improve them is top of the list next year! This includes having a set routine that includes study time, reading for fun, cleaning, hanging out with friends, and additional exercising.
~ My money management skills definitely were not what they should have been this year. Not that I failed completely at this…but there’s a LOT of room for improvement.
~ I need to do better about consistently writing in my gratitude journal. I was very sporadic this year.
~ I normally aim to read 50 books a year. This year I only got to 30. (How do I know this? See the aforementioned love of spreadsheets.) I know it may sound strange, but I can tell by how I am feeling when I am not spending enough time reading and that has definitely been the case for the second half of this year!

That basically covers it. This has been one of, if not THE, best year of my life! Thanks for sharing it with me!!! πŸ˜€

And to update you on the Hogmanay celebrations…I have decided not to go. After a more in depth reading of the website, it seems that most of the streets will be gated off because of various events taking place. One would need a ticket to get in. When I say I don’t have any money to pay for it, I don’t mean I probably shouldn’t spend any money…I mean I really and truly have NO money. I mean none! So there’s that…A HUGE factor in my decision. Secondly, they are anticipating 80,000 (!!!) freaking people to be here tonight!!! If I was meeting up with some peeps or something, that would be one thing. But trying to brave all that madness just to see fireworks that I can see from home seems silly! Lastly, I can hear the music (all the words and everything) and see the fireworks sitting on my futon looking out of the living room window (there are SOME benefits to living on the 4th floor). SO, I will definitely be staying awake to see the 4 tons of fireworks they have planned…some of which are going off now. YAY! πŸ™‚ I know that may seem lame…and if I had ANY money at all, I would totally go! But instead, I will be here in the casita posting a gajillion Happy New Year’s cliparts to the blog at midnight!!! πŸ˜€ While it is a bummer to miss Edinburgh’s big night, I have a feeling this won’t be my last New Year’s Eve in Edinburgh. πŸ˜‰

So that I can live vicariously through you guys, tell me in the comments what your plans are for this lovely New Year’s Eve!!! WOO! πŸ™‚

Contentedly,

Me! πŸ˜€

Responses

  1. I like your annual review. I think it is a quite good idea. Have you read The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin? It reminds me of what she did. I just started reading it. I used one of her strategies today when I was at the grocery store. Not really one of my favorite things to do. I kept telling myself that I liked to go to the grocery store. It was nice to pick out the lovely and tasty produce for me and B. I did enjoy the variety at the meat counter. I was at Target and that is my favorite store. I did start to enjoy the whole experience and gave the young man at the check out counter a big smile and a happy new year wish. So I plan to start my own happiness project. I am not unhappy but like the idea that I could improve my happiness. I am not doing anything special for new year’s eve. Will stay in and do my best to stay awake and toast 2011. I did make some Texas Caviar as we will be having some friends over tomorrow. I feel the same as you. I need all the good luck I can get. Happy New Year. Take care of yourself and enjoy the hell out of your experience in Scotland. Love you. D

  2. Princess R. I am so happy I didn’t have to suggest to you that you stay in where it is safe. There is safety in numbers and since all your peeps went home for Christmas I feel happy to go to sleep knowing you are safe and warm. All my love and a very Happy New Year and I can’t wait till Jan. 12th rolls around. Granimal

  3. Hi: Your New Years sounds exciting. I wish I could see some great fire works. I just got back from church. Not Our Lady of the Angels, my church, but a little church close to my house, and a wonderful priest (my age).
    His homily was all about looking at your life and finding lots of new things to do. And it sure is just what you are doing. It is so wonderful to see Scotland through your eyes. I’m really enjoying it. I hope your Christmas gift makes it to your bank soon.
    Love you a bunch, the Captain

  4. I stayed at home too. The kids JoJo and I stayed up and watched the ball drop. Your New Years sounded cool..being able to see the fireworks and hear the music would have had me in a very festive mood!


Leave a Reply

Categories

