Posted by: Anonymous Me | December 29, 2010

52 Letters, 52 Weeks – a 2011 Challenge

I was perusing one of my new fave blogs, when I came across this challenge:

“One piece of “real” mail sent out each week. It can be a letter, a postcard, a care package, a thank you note, handmade art, etc. I’m searching for all of the cards and stationery I have collected over the years and gathering them into one place with pens, envelopes (regular & padded), lots of stamps (.28 & .44), a glue stick, unlined index cards (great for making postcards), and a few USPS Small Flat Rate boxes. Oh, and I’m updating my address book.”

Y’all, I am so in! I bought of ton of postcards when I first got to Edinburgh that I was going to send to every person I knew…cause I’m in Scotland, WOOOOO! But then school happened, and finding an apartment, and reading, and cooking, and so forth. Also, I usually am really good about sending birthday cards to all my peeps, fam and friends, who are having birthdays or anniversaries. However, once I got here, that went totally down the tubes. I’ve tried to remember to acknowledge people on the blog, but more than half the people I acknowledge aren’t reading to the blog (that I know of). SO, I am going to use this challenge as motivation to get all those postcards sent and get back into my card-sending habit! YAY snail mail! 😀

Could/would YOU get down with the snail mail challenge?? 😉

Discursively,

Me 😉

Responses

  1. I like this idea!

  2. I totally love REAL mail. It’s so much more personal and thoughtful in my opinion that something that can be easily deleted with one key stroke. I second the motion to send out snail mail. REAL INK!!! YAY!!

  3. Count me in!!

  4. […] I was perusing one of my new fave blogs, when I came across this challenge: “One piece of “real” mail sent out each week. It can be a letter, a postcard, a care package, a thank you note, handmade art, etc. I’m searching for all of the cards and stationery I have collected over the years and gathering them into one place with pens, envelopes (regular & padded), lots of stamps (.28 & .44), a glue stick, unlined index cards (great for makin … Read More […]

  5. Ok, I’m in too, but I’m behind! Let me know if you want a PA postcard in Scotland!

  6. Wow, this sounds great! I wonder if I can manage it…

    • Hi, Leslee! Welcome!! Once you amass some postcards and stationary, and then go over your address book, it actually becomes much easier than it seems at first. If you check out the original post from which I borrowed the idea (the Non-Consuer Advocate blog, which is great, btw), she talks about sending letters to people she sees all the time, that live in her town, etc. It’s a lot of fun, especially if you find some good/funny/interesting stuff to send! 🙂 Thanks for commenting/reading! ~ Me 🙂

      • Thank you! I will check out that blog, and keep it as a wish to manifest soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

