Posted by: Anonymous Me | December 25, 2010

Unwrapping Gifts…

Christmastime is similar to Thanksgiving for me in that at both times I always try to take time to consider the things I am grateful for over this last year.

At this Christmas, I am grateful for the following gifts I’ve received this year:
~ First and foremost, the support and encouragement of my friends and family as I go on this crazy adventure of living overseas! I think I probably have enough moxie to have done this without your support, but I SO wouldn’t want to!! There are not enough words to successfully convey how grateful I am to all of you…and I am all kinds of wordy, so that’s saying a LOT! πŸ˜‰
~ Deciding to come to Edinburgh has definitely been a gift to myself (the gift that keeps on giving!)! I love it here, and every day I gain more confidence in my capacity to handle whatever comes my way e.g. carrying 40 pounds of groceries home from the grocery store. I may have had to take a break every ten steps, but I made it home, dang it! πŸ˜€
~ I am grateful for the gift of small reminders of home whether it’s hearing Poison (or Andy) on the radio while I’m shopping or finding crinkle cut french fries in the freezer section of the grocery store. It’s the little things… πŸ˜‰
~ Aaah…the gift of technology! I don’t know what I’d do without the internet and Skype! Amen! πŸ˜€
~ The gift of stuff…MY stuff! I’ve received several boxes from home since I’ve been here, and I can tell you there is nothing like having things that are YOURS when you are far away from home!

I could add a lot more small gifts from this year, but these are the main things…Besides, I’ve got to get cooking!

What about you? What are some of the gifts this year has brought you?? Leave a comment, and let me know! πŸ™‚

Humbly,

Me πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. I am thankful for a beautiful intelligent, fiesty, brave daughter who reminds her mother to be greatful and not to sweat the small stuff. Just keep moving on. I am greatful for all the beautiful clothes my baby girl gave me for gifts this year that I would never have bought for myself. It’s like having your arms wrapped around me. I love the music that you selected for me this year as it makes me feel close to you even though we are miles apart. I am greatful for Skype because when we get the chance it’s like you are here in my room with me. I am greatful for the fact that all the books I bought you over the years to encourage you to read has helped make you so successful in school and in life. Now you are one upping me with your collection and capacity to read everything you can get your hands on. I also greatful for my son, sweet kisses from Grandson’s and a roll if I am lucky from Alexa who’s name is close to my dear father’s (Alexander) and for all the family I am lucky to have. I wouldn’t change any of them. I am blessed and greatful. Granimal

  2. I am thankful for my beautiful, sweet babies who bring such joy to my life…for my parents who are always there to lift me up when I fall..for choosing to set myself free of someone who wanted to break me down..for the strength and confidence I have discovered in myself since I made that choice…for my brothers who are great examples of what a loving partner should be…for the rest of my family who are also wonderfully supportive…for my boyfriend who loves me and treats me like a queen….for my crazy puppy Hannah

    • You have a puppy!! Send pics, girly!! I was so sad to hear about Goliath and Beau. 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

