Posted by: Anonymous Me | November 21, 2010

Welcome, Sportsfans!

Good morning, peeps!

If you have never had the opportunity to watch a rugby game (on tv or otherwise), you should remedy that post haste! It is possibly the weirdest sport ever. I love watching it, but how it works is so not clear to me.

Even cricket, which I think is totally lame (Any sport with a uniform of khakis and sweaters is questionable, really. It’s like the casual Friday of the sports world. How are you supposed to take it seriously??) Anyhoo…Even cricket makes sense…hit the ball as hard as you can so you can run back and forth between the pole thingies as many times as possible. There’s at least a modicum of sensibility to that.

Rugby, however, is another story. For instance, when a team scores it’s called a try. Ummm…what?? They didn’t try to score…they did score…Shouldn’t that be called a success or something? As Yoda says…


See!!

Another weird thing is called a scrum. Here’s what it looks like:

From what I can tell, the team in possession of the ball, puts the ball amidst the feet of the guys shoving back and forth so that, hopefully, his fellow teammates can push the ball back with their feet to another member of the team so the ball can move forward.

Does that make any sense to you? If I got in line at the grocery store and said to the people in line ahead of me, “Would you please take my bread and pass it up to the people in front of you and then pass it back to me? I can’t pay for it until I hand it up the line,” I would fully expect to get the crazy eye.


I’m just sayin’. 😉

One last thing about rugby…and I believe I may have mentioned this back in 2007 when I was in Africa…About 1/3 of the guys are GORGEOUS…Full on ME-OW! There’s another 1/3 are average looking…you know, just guys. That leaves the last 1/3 which are, sadly, upsetting unattractive. I mean…yikes!

I don’t know what that’s about…but it’s a phenomenon, that’s for sure.

http://zaazu.com

Anyhoo…I’d better get back to the reading! I hope you’ve had a great weekend!

Gamely,

Me 😉

Responses

  1. Hi Me. Your blog is the best entertainment I have had in a long, long time. Thanks so much. Love you a bunch. Captain Marvel


Leave a Reply

Categories

