Posted by: Anonymous Me | November 17, 2010

Miscellany Round-Up

Hello, peeps!

Long time, no talk! I hope everyone has been and continues to be well! On with the updates!

~ I take melatonin (a natural supplement, not a prescribed drug) to help me fall asleep, and I ran out about a week and a half ago. I couldn’t find it in any stores, so I had to order it off the internet. I finally picked it up last night. I am SOOOOO excited!!! Without melatonin, I usually don’t fall asleep until I am physically exhausted which is usually sometime between 3am and 4am. So, that’s when I’ve been going to sleep.

Because of this, I haven’t felt at my best at all. Every time I would try to read for class or my essays, I would want to fall asleep. I also have been feeling grumpy and very negative. I am so the worst tired person. I so lose my ability to function as my amount of sleep decreases.

Thankfully, though, I have the melatonin now! So, last night instead of falling asleep by four, I fell asleep by one! Hooray!!!

I suspect that time will get earlier and earlier until I am back to my usually ten to ten-thirty bedtime. YAAAAY rest!


๐Ÿ™‚

~ So, Celine Dion and I had a moment the other day. I was at Pound Saver (the UK equivalent of the dollar store) when this song came on over the speaker. Within the first two notes, my mind, of its own volition, was singing, “There are nights when the wind was so cold…” Don’t worry, Celine! I may not be a huge fan of your music, but it’s all coming back to me now… ๐Ÿ™‚

~ So, the big, big, super huge news here in the UK is of course the engagement of Prince William and Kate Middleton. I hadn’t yet had occasion to witness the UK’s obsession with royalty until now. There were special news reports and extra long tv broadcasts, all about the announcement and the happy couple. This took me aback a little bit because in America we would normally interrupt normal broadcasts for severe weather alerts or other potential or actual emergencies…But I guess after 8 years of dating, maybe the fact that he finally popped the question is an emergency? ๐Ÿ˜‰

~ The director of my program (and his long-time lady friend) had all of us over for a dinner party on Saturday night. Most people were able to attend, and we had a really nice time! Their house is really lovely, and the food was good!

~ If you have any interest in seeing some of the fine British entertainment from the BBC, I would recommend scoping out the BBC IPlayer…Shows you should check out: Tours of Scotland and Making Scotland’s Landscape both show the beauty of the country. Countryfile and CountryTracks both show places around the UK. And, of course, Merlin is worth a look if you’re into to sci-fi/fantasy/King Arthur-y stuff! But in case you are on the phase 3, you might want to refrain!


Admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery, right??!?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

~ Lastly, my Friend in Def asked about the cuts to education budgets and the demonstration that took place in London. My school actually sponsored several busses to take students to the demonstration. However, no one I know went, and we haven’t really talked about it. We are mostly international students, so we’re paying a lot to be here anyway. Also, personally speaking, I’ve always had to take out loans to attend school. The tuition could have been $2000 a year or $8000 a year, and I still wouldn’t have been able to pay out of pocket. So, it’s hard for me to imagine what it would be like to have most of my school paid for without having to pay it back. But still, I understand how money issues make people super nervous about the future.

Though I didn’t go that particular demonstration, I did witness the demonstration here in Edinburgh when the budget cuts (for the entire budget, not just schools) were announced. Approximately 20,000 people marched throw the streets of Edinburgh peacefully opposing the cuts. I have never seen anything like it!

Anyhoo…I guess that’s all for now. I will leave you with the song that runs through my mind every time I walk to school as I trudge up the (small) hill past the park with trees…

I love you, Andy!!!

Melodically,

Me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

