Posted by: Anonymous Me | November 6, 2010

Noisy Night, Peaceful Morning…

Hey, peeps!

zwani.com myspace graphic comments
Saturday Graphic Comments

I hope everyone had a great week! Last night was crazy noisy! People were shooting off fireworks in observance of Guy Fawkes Day. You can check out Wikipedia for some info on what that is about!

Anyhoo…A good friend of mine asked me some questions whose answers I thought might interest some of you as well…

~ Do you really live on the 4th floor? – That is correct! I climb 62 stairs to get to my apartment. If I don’t have Buns of Steel by the time I leave here, I never will!

~ How’s school going? – It’s good. I have three classes – theory, religion, and food. I have class on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays which is why I tend to not say much on those days…I’m trying to get my readings done, and there’s really not much to report…”Hey, peeps! Happy Tuesday…I was just in class and now I’m reading. Kthxbai.” (That last part being a reference to lolcat lingo, for those of y’all who are confused.)



Anyhoo…About my classes: Theory – I don’t really understand what’s happening, but I like the way my professor presents the material, so it works out. 🙂 Religion – This class is a beat down. When I signed up for it, I thought we would be learning about religions and rituals…No. It should really be called Theories of Religions and Rituals. I already have a theory class, so this is a total whip to me!

Lastly, my food class is great! I really like my professor, and she presents the material really well.

We are all really stressing now as we are starting to work on our final papers. For my theory class, we had a short paper (1500 words or about 4 pages) due a few weeks ago. It is 20% of our grade for that class. I got a 67, which is apparently good…something like a B+. The grading system is quite different here than in America, so I am bit confused. However, my professor assures me this is a really good grade.


Whatevs…works for me! 🙂

Our finals papers are 4000 words or 10-12 pages. All of mine are due on December 10th. They are causes of great stress because for my theory class the paper counts as 80% of my grade, and for the other two classes the paper is ***100%*** of my grade.

Seeing as how I’ve no feedback on what these professors are looking for, this makes me feel incredibly uneasy. But don’t worry, I am asking LOTS of questions. Even so:

~ What are your friends like? – Well, I hang out with the peeps in my program. There are 18 of us. We are a diverse group…5 American peeps, 1 Scottish, 1 Irish, 3 English, 2 Latvian, 1 Lithuanian, 1 Canadian, 1 Indian, 1 Chinese, and 2 Polish. We all get along really well which is great! We have a lot of fun when we hang out. I have gone to lunch with a lot of them, and they are all good peeps and really smart! ☺

~ Do they “get” you? – I think so. They keep talking to me, so here’s hoping!


😉

~ Do you work? – No. I have one year to be totally amazing, and I don’t want anything detracting from that. Also, on a student visa I could only work a maximum of 20 hours anyway, so it’s not really worth the trouble. That being said, it makes me extremely nervous to not have a steady income stream. I am living on loans which is nice as this is the first time since I was 16 that I haven’t worked while I was in school. However, knowing that my income is dependent on someone else and not me and my efforts is more than a little unsettling.

~ What do you do in your down time? – To be completely honest, I play an upsetting amount of Solitaire on my computer.

I have a program that has 30 different solitaire games, and I am doing my utmost to master all of them.

LOL! Playing the games helps me to clear my mind, so don’t hate! (Mom, I’m looking at you!) I also have tv shows I follow. I have a tv, but it only gets one channel. I’ve ended up watching the most ridiculous things. World Darts Championships – Check; Formula 1 Racing (British equivalent of Nascar) – Check; Soccer – Check; This show for kids where they compete to escape from a giant so he won’t eat them – Check…possibly one of the most disturbing things I’ve seen in a minute!

I also walk around the city if I have time trying to learn where things are. I hang out with peeps from school. And of course, I read, read, read.

~ How are you adjusting? – I feel I am adjusting well. The internet and Skype are a godsend! I could never have done this back in the day, when moving away meant you never saw your family again and maybe got a letter every few months.



LOL!

Anyhoo…I am really falling in love with the city! It is so lovely! Also, I think I have a totally different sense of this place since I walk everywhere so it’s hard to compare to how it felt back home. The weather here now is the equivalent of a normal winter back home – highs in the mid-40s, lows in the mid-30s. Since the time changed, it feels a little weird because now the sun sets at friggin’ 4:30, and it’s full on nighttime by 5:15. I have heard that by the middle of winter, it will be dark by 3. YAY. Did someone say happy lights?? 😉


Edinburgh at night

Lastly, I’d like to comment on the cost of living here. I know some people have conveyed to my mom that everything is CRAAAAAAZY expensive here. This is not the case! Prices are pretty much the same as they would be in the US, the only problem is the dollar is not doing well presently…So, obviously, things are more expensive comparatively speaking. YAY global economics. 😦

Anyhoo…I hope that gives you guys a better sense of what my days are like!

A couple of things before I go:

My friend Dee is walking the Susan G. Komen 3 Day this weekend! GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, DEE…walking to save second base!!! 😉 YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!!!!

zwani.com myspace graphic comments
Free Twitter Backgrounds

Also, tonight is Daylight Savings time in the US! So, at 2am Sunday morning, the clocks will go back 1 hour:

zwani.com myspace graphic comments
Free Twitter Backgrounds
For reals this time! 😀

Ok, well, I am off to do more reading! 🙂

Have a super day!

Informatively,

Me!

Responses

  1. Hi Me I am so happy to read your blog tonight. I have had a busy day, but each time I came in, I would check to see if you added to your blog. It was great as usual
    You answered everything I wanted to ask. By the time you get back home, we will all feel like we have been to Scotland.
    Have a great weekend. I’ll turn the clocks back again. Love you, Captain Marvel

  2. Yay!! Thanks for posting! I did the walk in 38 degree weather in the AM and 69 in the PM, and now I’m paying for it. I’ve lost my voice. But on the upside, I only got one blister!

    I loved that someone asked you all those questions! I’m learning about Europe thru you!

    Talk to you later,

    Dee


Leave a Reply

Categories

