Posted by: Anonymous Me | October 18, 2010

Monday, Monday…

Hello, peeps! I hope you had a super weekend!


πŸ™‚

Anyhoo…I have exciting news to report!! I found a new grocery store at the end of the street, and it has PopTarts AND refried beans!!!!!!! The PopTarts aren’t quite as magically delicious as the ones at home, but I am so glad to at least have the option to consume breakfast food with little or no nutritional value! YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!!!!!!

I had tacos for dinner on Saturday and Sunday. Now granted, I don’t have any Old El Paso taco sauce (my personal fave), which is of course the icing on the proverbial taco. However, I made due! It was nice to have at least a semblance of home! πŸ™‚


I love you, Taco Man!!!

On a random note, I was walking home last week when a Lotus drove past. Not something you see everyday:

Here’s my theory:

I’m just sayin’… πŸ˜‰

Moving on…My big news of the weekend, though, is..I did laundry. THE. STUPIDEST. THING. EVER.

Just so you know…there are basically no dryers here. Everyone just hangs up their laundry. Now, I don’t want to seem ethnocentric and imply I am living in a ridiculous backwater…BUT…UK peeps, IF THE TECHNOLOGY IS THERE WHY WOULD YOU NOT AVAIL YOURSELVES OF IT!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

It doesn’t help that each washing cycle takes 2 AND A HALF HOURS!!!!!!!!!!!! No, I am not kidding!!!! Add to that AT LEAST 8-10 hours of letting it hang on the rack in the hallway to dry:


The scene in my hallway. (Yep, that really is the hallway in my apt.)

And really, the time could be a lot longer than that as I used my space heater to speed along the process. Once the clothes are dry, they are all stiff and grody! UGH! This is really the first thing I’ve come across here that’s made me totally angry! I mean, I am all for maintaining traditions and what not, but no one has a box with a hole in it to put a big block of ice to keep the food cold, DO THEY?!!?!?!?


GRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anyhoo…That’s my rant for the day. πŸ˜‰

In other news, I would like to wish a VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY PLUS ONE DAY to Mema, my grandmother, and Kimmels aka Kim Jangles, one of my fave peeps!!!!!


YAY BIRTHDAYS!!!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Also, I would like to wish *heaps and heaps* of good luck to my friend, Jem, another one of my fave peeps, who is going on her first interview to get into the Peace Corps!


I know you’ll knock their socks off, girlie! πŸ™‚

Lastly, there is a hill near my apt that was the first public park in Edinburgh. I got the top and took some pics with my laptop. Here’s the view:



Don’t let Monday (or laundry ;)) get you down!

Spotlessly,

Me πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Categories

