Posted by: Anonymous Me | October 9, 2010

An Announcement!…and More Musings About Town

Hello, peeps!

The kittehs have landed! I picked up my cats from quarantine yesterday. I cannot describe you how happy I am to have them with me finally. It’s like having a little piece of home!

Anyhoo…some more musings about town…

~ There is a bit of a problem with my apartment (aka flat). It came with a tv.

I fully admit to having a bit of a tv watching problem. Knowing *is* half the battle. 😉

Anyhoo…I would get home, and it would be soooo quiet around the apartment that I would watch tv. It’s interesting here because I only get one channel. BBC 1 Scotland is all that is available to me. So, whatever they are playing I am watching. Soccer (aka football), field hockey (a beatdown compared to ice hockey), EastEnders (a soap opera), and the show about buying houses that’s rebroadcast late at night with sign language interpreters…b/c most deaf people are awake at 2am?? The nice thing about it though is that there are no commercials…So, at least I don’t have to constantly bask in the glow of Tide white sheets, or get excited about a 4 Day Sale at Kohl’s.

~ So, I was walking home the other day, and zooming past me came…wait for it…it’s really good…as good as the unicycle……..A policeman in a smart car. Now, I am not really sure what’s going to happen should the police officer apprehend any suspects…The only real options are strapping him to the roof of the car or letting him sit in the policeman’s lap. Either way, I think it would be hard to exert authority riding around in one of those.


Yep…something like that. 🙂

~ A word about British bathrooms…There are two faucets for the sink, one for hot water and one for cold water.

It looks something like this:

I asked the taxi driver who took me to pick up the cats if the British have something against warm water. I am sure if there was someone watching me wash off my makeup every night they would have a big laugh. Trying to mix the two so that I am not burning my face or slapping it with ice makes for quite a show.

~ Lastly…I was quite excited when I started seeing signs in cafes advertising baked potatoes. I loooooove potatoes in most forms, and I really enjoy baked ones especially. My enthusiasm was short lived. I got to the front of the line at the cafe here in the library and asked for a baked potato. “And what toppings would you like?” asked the cashier. “Butter, sour cream, and cheese,” I replied. She looked a little peeved and pointed me to the list of available toppings: cheese (thankfully), chili, tuna and corn, coleslaw, baked beans, mayonnaise, or prawns.

Have a great weekend!

Strangely ;),

Me

Responses

  1. Mmmmm, I heart tuna!!!! 😉

  2. My Beautiful Friend-I forgot to warn you about the food not being what we are used to here. My sister-in-law ordered spaghetti at a restaurant in England and she was given a plate of noodles and a bottle of ketchup.

    Miss you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

