Posted by: Anonymous Me | September 25, 2010

Salutations! (A fancy way of saying hello!) :)

Welcome to my blog! I am an American student working on my Masters degree In Anthropology in Edinburgh, Scotland. This blog has a couple of purposes. First, it acts as a record for myself of my shenanigans as I make my way through this experience. Also, it serves the fabulous and convenient purpose of keeping my family and friends updated on my goings-on…In other words, it serves as documentation (for my mom, specifically) that I am not lying in a gutter somewhere. That being said, readers of any ilk are welcome to peruse and comment. I look forward to any and all feedback. SO…A couple of things you should know:

~ This is an anonymous blog. I will not be mentioning my name nor the names of my family/friends. However, I will certainly be referring to my family and friends. So, peeps, I will be using nicknames for you. Some people will have multiple nicknames (my mom, for example), some will have a nickname that is plainly obvious to those who know that person, some may not be so obvious. Be on the lookout! (And if you are unsure about whom I am referring, just send me an e-mail and ask!)
~ I am a very liberal user of run-on sentences, emoticons, exclamation points, and clipart (especially LOLs…see blogroll for examples). Which goes hand in hand with the fact that…
~ I have a very unique way of describing things. (Besides the vividness of my descriptors, I also tend to use a lot of big words. I don’t mean that as an affectation or as a way of putting on airs. From what I’ve been told, to read my writing is to hear my voice as if we were talking in person…which is the same as what my internal dialogue sounds like as well. I’ve read a lot and have a good memory for vocabulary, so big words are just how I roll. ) So, in case you can’t tell, I am quirky. I know this about myself. Admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery! : D
~ Lastly, this is a family show. In other words, I will not be using a massive amount of expletives though I may make reference to some. By the same token, I may refer to my dating life (should the current man-famine that is my love life end), but I will not go into the gory details. My parents are (hopefully) reading this, and I know they have no desire to know of my adventures getting to know people in the Biblical sense. (Though pictures of famous hot dudes may appear from time to time. Maybe I’ve had a bad day and need a picture of a shirtless Rodrigo Santoro, for example, to cheer me up. It’s my blog, and I can ogle if I want to!)

Anyhoo…I guess that covers it for now. It’s been a long day, and I definitely need some sleep! Trans-Atlantic moves (with animals, no less) definitely wear a person out!

In upcoming posts…how I came to be an Anthropology student, not to mention an Anthropology student in Edinburgh. Also, my travails getting here and my first impressions.

I look forward to sharing with y’all!!! Thanks for reading!

Excitedly,

Me

Responses

  1. ciao cara, You should put all this in a book and have it published! It is too funny and would inspire even the most timid soul. Besides, you can get money! I am glad you have chosen Scotland, but, sweetie, it is mighty COLD there. Hope you brought warm duds or money to BUY warm duds. (or you could get a hottie and cuddle:)! con affetto, tua amica Raffi


Leave a Reply

Categories

