Posted by: Anonymous Me | January 1, 2011

New Year’s Traditions and Superstitions…

Good morning, peeps!! Once again…

zwani.com myspace graphic comments
Myspace Happy New Year Comments & Graphics

So, I was reading this article on one of my new fave websites, and it got me thinking about what I do for the New Year. When I was younger, I strongly believed that the people/person with whom you spent the midnight moment would be the people/person you spent the rest of the year with as well. Experience has shown me that is definitely not the case, but it is a nice thought. :) For me, (as I mentioned on the Food Friday post) on New Year’s Day there must be the eating of the black-eyed peas for luck, and something green, usually something involving spinach (Knorr’s spinach dip!), for prosperity. (I haven’t found the right bread for the spinach dip, so I will be having a salad instead.) Also, I try to take time to set goals for the upcoming year and to be sure I write them down so I don’t forget! :) More on goals in a future post… :D Lastly, when I was an undergrad we talked about New Year’s traditions/superstitions in class. One of the girls said it was bad luck to do laundry on New Year’s Day because it foretold of death in the family. She said her aunt, without thinking about it, washed some clothes on New Year’s Day, and that year three people in her family died. SO, since then, I take no chances and save the laundry for another day! :)

What about you?? What are some of your New Year’s traditions/superstitions?? Leave a comment, and let me know! :D

Reflectively,

Me :)

Responses

  1. I never make plans for New Years Eve and stay home. My Mother told me that New Years Eve was the most dangerous night to be out. I believed her and have seen the truth in it. When everyone is celebrating and most are drinking to get drunk I think of what she told me as a child. Mother is always right. MADD. Love ya Pumpkin

  2. the laundry thing is SO not true!

  3. My mom always made me eat one black eyed pea. When I was younger I didn’t like them but she always made me eat one. She thought my year would be bad if I didn’t.


Leave a Reply

Categories

